New year resolution for my kids | Millennial mum edition

So it’s 2019! Wow… I was born in 1989, and I remember when it was 2000 really well! Was such a big deal.. it was the millennium!

People were excited thinking now it’s a completely new “Zamana” (means Era). Those people weren’t wrong so much has changed, it was Nokia back then now there are so many smart phones. Flat screens were the new rage back then. Touchscreens were only gadgets that people were predicting in movies and cartoons , just like flying cars!

Back in 2000s entertainment for kids was either playing outside or game consoles,we used to swap game cassettes with friends. There was psp, but again not everyone had it back then.

There was no WiFi! I don’t think I can survive without WiFi anymore! Had to use phone line to connect to internet or use a server provider that would be super slow!

Life is more digital than real now! Everything is online. Facebook, Twitter, youtube, Netflix, and so many more apps, you don’t need to leave the house anymore? Can order food online, grocery shopping can be done online, clothes and what not. You have access to everything on the tip of your finger!

when I would ask my parents a question and they didn’t know the answer to it, they would help me find the answer, be it from a book or a person. Now when my kids ask me something I google it and tell them ; straight up. Sometimes I wonder if they are missing out on something? The excitement and sense of achievement that came with figuring out a problem on your own I guess.  They wouldn’t understand what it was like to share one phone , landline! They wouldn’t understand what it felt like to wait for your favourite show to come up so you can watch it, on time cos you can’t  stream it later. The excitement to see friends after school break so you can tell them everything that happened, because you couldn’t text them everyday !

I love technology! But I feel like it’s taking over our lives! We are so obsessed with taking pics to put up on social media that we forget to actually be in the moment and enjoy it. Everything seems so fake now!

I am not a “new year new me” person! But this year I am determined to not let this technology take over me, and my real life! I am going to make changes for my kids.

  • I will put my phone away when I’m home with my family.
  • I will enjoy the moment rather then trying to take a picture and post it on social media.
  • I will go out more and watch the birds, or the stars rather then staring at phone screen/ TV.
  • I will meet up with friends and family more  and speak to them in person more, rather then just relying on social media.
  • I will interact with my neighbours more.

I want to teach them to live life! They already know how to use all the tech stuff, because it’s their generation! I am the millennial, I have seen life with and without screens , my children are going to see life through my eyes. Thence makes it more important to move the screens away from my eyes! And enjoy the real world!

What are you going to change for your kids this year? Please do share your thoughts?

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started